Changes in Indian cricket team for Zimbabwe series: Shivam Dubey replaces Nitish Reddy under Shubman Gill’s captaincy

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed the appointment of Shubman Gill as the new captain for the Zimbabwe tour in a recent statement.

This decision has been making big headlines from the BCCI as now Shubman Gill will lead the team when India plays against Zimbabwe.

T20 series against Zimbabwe
T20 series against Zimbabwe

Along with this, the apex cricket board has also confirmed the only change in the young Indian T20 team. For the bilateral series, Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder Nitish Reddy has been replaced by Chennai Super Kings power-hitter Shivam Dubey.

Check the breaking news on T20 World Cup 2024

The Indian men’s selection committee has also taken another important decision for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour. Dubey has now been included in the team in place of the injured Reddy. The BCCI medical team is keeping an eye on Reddy’s progress and ensuring Dubey’s preparations.

India’s updated team:

  • Shubman Gill (captain),
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal,
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad,
  • Abhishek Sharma,
  • Rinku Singh,
  • Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper),
  • Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper),
  • Riyan Parag,
  • Washington Sundar,
  • Ravi Bishnoi,
  • Avesh Khan,
  • Khaleel Ahmed,
  • Mukesh Kumar,
  • Tushar Deshpande,
  • Shivam Dubey.

Led by Shubman Gill, India’s second-string team will play a five-match T20 series against Zimbabwe in Harare. The visiting team India will take on Zimbabwe in the first match of the series on July 6. During this tour, the team is waiting to take the field with a new captain and new expectations.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

In this changing time, it is the effort of the Board of Control for Cricket in India to give new players a chance in the team and motivate them for their performance in world-class cricket.

This decision gives a new direction to Indian cricket and a strong indication that the team’s objective is still unwavering for victory and for good cricket.

Read Also-

Leave a Comment

close button